Home » Prince Discography » Posthumous Releases » Originals


Warner Bros. Records

It’s a rare singer-songwriter who can just give away undeniable hits.

Originals is a compilation album containing 15 tracks gleaned from Prince‘s fabled – and quite literally prised-open – Paisley Park vault. The songs are his original previously unreleased demo recordings of songs that he wrote for or later gave to other artists for inclusion on their own albums and released under their name. The most notable are four top-10 chart hit singles: Manic Monday (the track he gave to The Bangles – Billboard singles chart peak #2); Nothing Compares 2 U (given to and rerecorded by Sinead O’Connor, 1990 – Billboard #1); The Glamorous Life (given to and rerecorded by Shelia E., 1984 – Billboard #7); and Love… Thy Will Be Done (released on the 1991 album Martika’s Kitchen – Billboard #10). On many occasions, in the final recording only the vocal tracking replaced by the other artist’s voice and Prince’s original instrumentation remains largely unaltered.

The songs were selected by The Estate’s representative Troy Carter and artist Jay-Z. The album was first streamed on Jay-Z’s TIDAL on 7 June 2019 of which would have marked Prince’s 61st birthday, the release of the physical version followed on 21 June. The songs were recorded between 1981 and 1991 when Prince was signed to Warner Brothers, therefore Originals is released under that label.

Having declined Michael Jackson’s offer to duet on the title track of his Bad album in 1986*, Prince instead offered his track Wouldn’t You Love To Love Me? to Jackson to rerecord himself, however he declined Prince’s offer and the rivalry between the two icons grew.

*Prince supposedly withdrew his participation due to the opening lyric of that song, which would have Jackson sing to Prince – “Your butt is mine”.


NPG Records
Warner Bros. Records
Cover Art/Photo
Allen Beaulieu
1 years, 0 months ago on 21 June 2019
Running Time
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak


  1. Sex Shooter [for Apollonia 6, 1984] (3:06) Recorded in 1983
  2. Jungle Love [for The Time, 1984] (3:04) Recorded in 1983
  3. Manic Monday [for The Bangles, 1985] (2:51) Recorded in 1984
  4. Noon Rendezvous [for Sheila E., 1984] (3:00) Recorded in 1984
  5. Make-Up [for Vanity 6, 1982] (2:27) Recorded in 1981
  6. 100 MPH [for Mazarati, 1986] (3:31) Recorded in 1984
  7. You're My Love [for Kenny Rogers, 1986] (4:24) Recorded in 1982
  8. Holly Rock [for Sheila E., 1985] (6:39) Recorded in 1985
  9. Baby, You’re A Trip [for Jill Jones, 1987] (5:52) Recorded in 1982
  10. The Glamorous Life [for Sheila E., 1984] (4:12) Recorded in 1983
  11. Gigolos Get Lonely Too [for The Time, 1982] (4:49) Recorded in 1982
  12. Love… Thy Will Be Done [for Martika, 1991] (4:09) Recorded in 1991
  13. Dear Michaelangelo [for Sheila E., 1985] (5:22) Recorded in 1985
  14. Wouldn’t You Love To Love Me? [for Taja Sevelle, 1987] (5:57) Recorded in 1981
  15. [for The Family, 1985 & Sinead O'Connor, 1990] (4:39) Recorded in 1984

Singles from Originals

Nothing Compares 2 U single from Originals

Nothing Compares 2 U

Warner Bros. Records

19 April 2018
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Nothing Compares 2 U (4:40)
Holly Rock single from Originals

Holly Rock

Warner Bros. Records

26 July 2019
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Holly Rock (3:55)

Originals – review

Well if these are demos, the standard of tracks on Originals is outstanding. What is more surprising are how many of the tracks maintained Prince’s instrumentalisation and this not only include those he gave to his side projects The Time and Sheila E., but smash hits like Love… Thy Will Be Done, where the sole difference between his and Martika’s version is the vocal tracking, and the job is done – one of many hit record, included in this great album, in the bag. That’s how Prince was in the 1980s, a hit factory, whose output could not put a foot wrong. Couple that, with the fact Prince’s versions actually sound better than the more ‘original’ versions we all know too well. This is most stark with Manic Monday (of course the intended star of the album); but once acclimatised to instead hearing Prince’s vocals you are reminded he is the creator of this great song – yet don’t mistake Originals as a mere ‘pre-covers’ album. Its standout tracks are the lesser known Make-Up (which he gave to Vanity 6), and the clutch of others – Holly Rock, Noon Rendezvous and Dear Michelangelo – all given to Shelia E. It’s a pure delight to hear Prince’s original of the sublime Baby, You’re A Trip, his version again confirming this is one of the greatest tracks he gave away. Prince’s delivery is clear and precise throughout, the love and care put into his music is shines through even in these supposed demos. They don’t in any way lack the power, passion and sheer quality of any of his published output, Originals is no official repressing of a well-played bootleg spirited out of Paisley Park’s famed vault. Listen to the tenderness of Love… The Will Be Done and the chaos of Holly Rock – the two best tracks on the album, Originals showcases Prince in all his forms: his profligacy, generosity, and master of his craft. Originals is an essential listen and an inspired addition in Prince’s catalogue.


© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2020 | Privacy