Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » Time Waits For No One

Time Waits For No One, Warner Bros. Records (1989) Time Waits For No One Warner Bros. Records (1989)
Prince Biography Related Artists

Time Waits For No One

Warner Bros. Records

I wanted him to write for me.

Prince first saw R&B group The Staple Singers perform at a concert in LA in August 1987. The group was formed in 1952 but since 1985 were no longer signed to a record label. So impressed was he, Prince signed their lead singer Mavis Staples to his record label, Paisley Park Records.

Prince wrote all but two of the songs for and executive produced her album Time Waits For No One. None of the tracks were recorded with Prince and Mavis together, but he provides backing vocals and plays some of the instruments, overlayed at Paisley Park. The recording was complete in June 1988, during the lead-up to the Lovesexy Tour. He looked up to Mavis, as if she was his mother. The Staple Singers were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1999.


Paisley Park Records
Warner Bros. Records
31 years, 6 months ago on 24 May 1989
Running Time
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
Orig. Formats


  1. Interesting
  2. 20th Century Express 2 & 3
  3. Come Home
  4. Jaguar 2
  5. Train
  6. The Old Songs 3
  7. I Guess I'm Crazy
  8. Time Waits For No One 1 & 2

1 Co-written with Mavis Staples.
2 Released as singles.
3 Not produced by Prince.

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2020 | Privacy