Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » Sheila E

Sheila E, Warner Bros. Records (1987) Sheila E © 1987, Warner Bros. Records

Madhouse 8

Jill Jones

Review (3 / 5) Prince Biography Related Artists

Sheila E

Warner Bros. Records

Not bad, for a girl

Sheila E is the self-titled third album by Sheila Escovedo. Unlike her two previous albums Prince did not write all its songs, this time writing half of the album’s ten tracks. The album was recorded between December 1985 and September 1986, initially at Sunset Sound in Hollywood, then at Prince’s home studios both at Kiowa Trail and Galpin Blvd. in Minnesota, at the same time he and the Revolution were working on the album titled Dream Factory which subsequently became Sign O’ The Times. The album produced three singles (Love On A Blue Train was released in Japan only), the most successful was Hold Me written by Sheila and peaked at number 3 in the US singles charts.

Prince again performs on the album, playing most of the instruments. On leaving Paisley Park Records in 1989, it was her final recording collaboration with Prince until the pair worked on Musicology in 2004. She introduced many members of her own band to Prince who he would hire into own touring bands, namely: Miko Weaver, Levi Seacer, Boni Boyer and Renato Neto. Kat Dyson, Rhonda Smith and Cassandra O’Neal were members of her 2007 touring band C.O.E.D, before joining Prince.

At the time of the release of Sheila E, she was a full-time member and drummer in Prince’s backing band for his Sign O’ The Times Tour. Sheila was also the inspiration behind The Black Album, which he intended to release in 1987 in just a matter of months after Sign O’ The Times but replaced in 1988, with Lovesexy.


Prince (uncredited) Sheila E. and David Z.
Paisley Park Records
Warner Bros. Records
Jeff Katz (photo) and Margo Chase (logo)
34 years, 1 months ago on 19 February 1987
Running Time
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
Orig. Formats


  1. One Day (I'm Gonna Make You Mine) (4:47) 1
  2. Wednesday Like A River (3:25)
  3. Hold Me (5:04) 2
  4. Faded Photographs (4:11)
  5. Koo Koo (3:24) 1 & 2
  6. Pride And The Passion (4:05) 1
  7. Boy's Club (3:56) 1
  8. Soul Salsa (3:08)
  9. Hon E Man (3:22)
  10. Love On A Blue Train (5:33) 2

1 Written by Prince but credited to Sheila E.
2 Released as singles.

Sheila E – review

Sheila E’s self-titled third album is a bold affair. That it was recorded both at Prince’s Galpin Blvd home studio and Sunset Sound during that iconic summer of 1986 when Prince was cooking The Sign O’ The Times, it enjoys great provenance. In fact, Sheila was so busy playing drums for Prince for his Sign O’ The Times Tour, she was unable to promote her own album and it paid dearly for that with moderate chart performance – what else are friends are for? This is a far more cohesive work then her previous solo outing with Romance 1600. The album launches with the forward looking One Day (I’m Gonna Make You Mine), one of the album’s five Prince penned tracks, yet it is Sheila’s own contributions Wednesday Like A River, Hold Me – with its mark of sultry LA police TV drama, and Faded Photographs that offer the real brightness and reveal the distinction between Prince and David Z’s more glossy production – the work holds true and the output is a highly pleasing release. Prince’s sound is as solid as always, with Koo Koo – one of his tracks and the album’s lead single. The album really takes flight from the midway section, with Prince’s Pride And The Passion and Boy’s Club. The album closes with its catchiest track, full of cheer and sun – Love On A Blue Train – co-written by, you guessed, Prince.

Sheila E

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2021 | Privacy

New Release

Welcome 2 America

30 July 2021
Welcome 2 America CD & Vinyl