Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » May 19, 1992

May 19, 1992, Paisley Park Records (1991) May 19, 1992 © 1991, Paisley Park Records
BUY ON AMAZON Singles Prince Biography Related Artists

May 19, 1992

Paisley Park Records

My Paisley door is open wide

After moving to Minneapolis in 1986 at the age of 17, Ingrid Chavez first met Prince in 1987 during a Tuesday funk night event held at Williams Uptown Pub, and passed him a note. Intrigued by her poetry, he encouraged her to write a spoken album and signed her to his label, Paisley Park Records. The main recording of what was her debut album was laid down in December that year. But in April 1991, Prince re-recorded his backing music, often as improvisations on keyboards in five of its eleven tracks. The album was named May 19, 1992, the date one year on from the day that the cover photo was shot. Prince widthdrew from the album following Warner Brother’s insistance to replace the vocals with sung lyrics, and so the remaining tracks are co-produced by Levi Seacer and Prince’s then recording engineer Michael Koppelman. Prince’s involvement is credited simply as Paisley Park.

The two met just after Prince withdrew The Black Album from sale and when he was seeking to produce an album of a more positive tone. Chavez became an influence behind the resulting Lovesexy album and gives the spoken intro to its opening track Eye No – which she is credited as The Spirit Child.

In 1990, Prince cast Chavez the female lead role Aura, for his third feature film Graffiti Bridge. During the shooting of this movie, she met Lenny Kravitz and the pair co-wrote the song Justify My Love, which became a hit for Madonna that year. Chavez subsequently sued and won a legal challenge for her contribution in the song’s creation.


Paisley Park Records
Paisley Park Records
29 years, 3 months ago on 24 September 1991
Running Time
US Chart Peak
Not charted
UK Chart Peak
Not charted
Orig. Formats


  1. Heaven Must Be Near (7:08) 1
  2. Hippy Blood (5:29) 2
  3. Candle Dance (3:43) 3
  4. Elephant Box (4:30) 1 & 2
  5. Slappy Dappy (4:06) 1
  6. Little Mama (4:55)
  7. Jadestone (0:46) 1
  8. Wintersong (3:51)
  9. Spiritual Storm (1:41)
  10. Sad Puppet Dance (3:55)
  11. Whispering Dandelions (2:00) 1

1 Co-written by and performed by Prince & Ingrid Chavez.
2 Released as singles.
3 Instruments by Prince.

Singles from May 19, 1992

Hippy Blood single from May 19, 1992, Paisley Park Records (1992)

Hippy Blood

Paisley Park Records

5 March 1992
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Hippy Blood [Free Spirit Edit] (4:06)
  2. Hippy Blood [Keep Pumpin' It Mix] (6:35)
  3. Hippy Blood [Commune Mix] (7:37)
  4. Hippy Blood (4:51)
  5. Whispering Dandelions (1:59)
  6. Hippy Blood [Funky House Edit] (6:00)
  7. Hippy Blood [Club Mix] (6:53)
  8. Hippy Blood [Happy Hippy Mix] (5:21)
  9. Hippy Blood [Freedom's Beating Heart Mix] (3:45)
Elephant Box single from May 19, 1992, Paisley Park Records (1992)

Elephant Box

Paisley Park Records

19 May 1992
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Elephant Box [Album Version] (3:52)
  2. Elephant Box [Elephant House Mix] (6:36)
  3. Elephant Box [The Solo] (6:28)
  4. Elephant Box [Bee Bop Mix] (6:13)
  5. Elephant Box [Full Pass Mix] (6:15)
  6. Elephant Box [Dub Box] (6:04)

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2021 | Privacy