Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » Carmen Electra

Carmen Electra, Warner Bros. Records (1993) Carmen Electra © 1993, Warner Bros. Records

May 19, 1992

The Voice

Singles Review (3.5 / 5) Prince Biography Related Artists

Carmen Electra

Warner Bros. Records

You look like a Carmen

Carmen (Tara Leigh Patrick), a dancer, met Prince in 1991 aged 18, having seen her perform at an LA nightclub, and quickly signed her to his label Paisley Park Records to embark her on a singing career and gave her the stage name Carmen Electra, which stuck ever since. Prince co-wrote most of the songs for this, her first and only album, with New Power Generation members Tony M. and Levi Seacer Jr. writing the remaining songs. Prince also plays most of the instruments, recording at Paisley Park Studios, with Carmen laying down her vocals between there and Record Plant studios in LA. The album is further mixed by Keith “KC” Cohen at Larrabee Studios, LA.

The song Judy Good Girlfriend was originally intended for Prince’s aborted album Rave Unto The Joy Fantastic (1989). All That contains samples from Prince’s 1987 song Adore. The Carmen Electra album was due for release during the Diamonds And Pearls Tour, its initial shows included Carmen as the support act, but the album’s release was delayed until after the tour and thereby did not capitalise on proper market traction. She and Prince dated for a while, but Carmen left the tour over payment concerns and returned to LA to persue an acting career. The song Eye Hate U, is about the break-up of their relationship.


Prince (as Paisley Park)
Paisley Park Records
Warner Bros. Records
Lynn Goldsith and Gregg Ross
28 years, 2 months ago on 9 February 1993
Running Time
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
Orig. Formats


  1. Go Go Dancer (4:45) 3 & 7
  2. Good Judy Girlfriend (1:59)
  3. Go On (Witcha Bad Self) (4:09) 4
  4. Step To The Mic [feat. Tony M.] (3:16) 2
  5. S.T. (Skin Tight) [feat. Tony M.] (4:03) 5
  6. Fantasia Erotica (4:36) 1 & 7
  7. Everybody Get On Up [feat. Prince] (4:01) 1 & 7
  8. Segue [feat. Prince] (0:29)
  9. Fun (3:42) 1 & 7
  10. Just A Little Lovin' [feat. Tony M.] (4:02) 3
  11. Segue [feat. Eric Leeds] (0:46)
  12. All That (4:29) 1
  13. Segue (0:12)
  14. This Is My House [feat. Prince] (3:28) 6

1 Co-written by Prince and Carmen Electra.
2 Co-written by Prince and Levi Seacer Jr.
3 Co-written by Prince and Tony Mosley.
4 Written by Levi Seacer Jr. and Tony Mosley.
5 Written by Carmen Electra and Tony Mosley.
6 Written by Carmen Electra and Levi Seacer Jr.
7 Release as singles.

Singles from Carmen Electra

Go Go Dancer single from Carmen Electra, Paisley Park Records (1992)

Go Go Dancer

Paisley Park Records

18 June 1992
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Go Go Dancer [Radio Edit] (4:27)
  2. Go Go Dancer [12" Mix] (6:03)
  3. Go Go Dancer [The Dub] (5:53)
  4. Go Go Dancer [Factory Mix] (6:01)
  5. Go Go Dancer [The Dub Dub Dancer] (6:02)
  6. Go Go Dancer [Royal Mix] (6:02)
Everybody Get On Up single from Carmen Electra, Paisley Park Records (1993)

Everybody Get On Up

Paisley Park Records

21 January 1993
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Everybody Get On Up [3rd Time Funky Mix] (4:07)
  2. Everybody Get On Up [12" Up Mix] (7:09)
  3. Everybody Get On Up [Jeep Mix] (4:21)
  4. Everybody Get On Up [Stiff Dub] (6:51)
  5. Go Go Dancer [Radio Edit] (4:26)
  6. Everybody Get On Up [Wet N' Juicy Dub] (6:51)
Fantasia Erotica single from Carmen Electra, Paisley Park Records (1993)

Fantasia Erotica

Paisley Park Records

4 August 1993
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
  1. Fantasia Erotica [Indecent Proposal Mix Radio Edit] (4:00)
  2. Fantasia Erotica [Erotic Groove Mix] (5:38)
  3. Fantasia Erotica [Sex Drive Dub] (6:50)
  4. Fantasia Erotica [Xtra Sex Dub] (6:47)
  5. Fantasia Erotica [He Dances Instead] (5:36)
  6. Fantasia Erotica [Double Deep House Mix] (2:31)
  7. All That (4:29)

Supporting tour

Diamonds And Pearls Tour

Diamonds And Pearls Tour


  • 50 shows from 3 April to 12 July, 1992

Carmen Electra – review

The whole purpose of the side-project was to provide Prince the vehicle with which to experiment other avenues. Feeling the call to adopt hip-hop growing more urgent by the 1990s’ Prince worked on two projects in the early 1990s (despite its intentions to break into the hip-hop market Diamonds And Pearls was largely an R&B album) to appeal more to the yoof. His first hip-hop project therefore was Carmen, the second is GoldNigga. Tony M, Prince’s rap maestro was given free rein in both, and Carmen Electra is the perfect frontwoman. To say Carmen ventures further into dance and hip-hop than Prince’s other works is an understatement. The album launches into Go Go Dancer, setting the energy that is maintained throughout – there are no heartfelt ballads on here. Prince had writing contribution for most of the songs; Levi Seacer and Tony M the others. This produces great writing combos and Carmen offers great range in result; Just A Little Loving has a rich deep sound, Fun has a pace so impressive, Carmen Electra was a fantastic rapper. I have to say Tony M has been harshly judged by fans, and it is no coincidence one of the album’s best tracks Step To The Mic because of him. Its lead however is Fantasia Erotica, yet personally, the best track is really Everybody Get On Up, the one that of course is the most Prince-like. The purple one’s DNA runs thick through this album, which was the perfect and wrongly too short-lived support to his Diamonds And Pearls tour. Carmen was not forgotten, thanks to the heavens and Baywatch.

Carmen Electra

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2021 | Privacy

New Release

Welcome 2 America

30 July 2021
Welcome 2 America CD & Vinyl