Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » Back In Time

Back In Time

NPG Records

Judith Hill started out as a backing vocalist for Michael Jackson in 2009 and was due to perform with him for the This Is It shows planned for London’s O2 Arena. However, following his death she appeared in the documentary 20 Feet From Stardom, where she recounted life as a backing singer – for which she won a Grammy award for a performance in it. She then appeared on the TV talent show The Voice in 2013. She met Prince in March 2015 after him seeing her on TV in April the previous year mentioning she would like to work with him. The two worked together to produce her debut album Back In Time, for which Hill wrote all the songs. The album was released later that month without word or advanced warning, as a link to the full downloadable album emailed to Prince’s Live Nation subscribers. The download was available for a period of 48-hours.

Whilst Prince has no writing credit for Back In Time, he mentored Hill throughout the project and played the guitar, bass and drums, as well as provided co-lead and supporting vocals and produced the record at his Paisley Park studio – the sound is unmistakably his. It was released on 23 March 2015 as a free download and then received a limited physical release on 23 October that year.

Hill was also Prince’s final girlfriend. The couple were dating at the time of his death on 21 April 2016 and she was with him on the flight when forced to make an emergency landing at Moline Airport, Illinois in the early hours on 15 April 2016, where upon arrival Prince received medical treatment following an overdose from opiate-base painkillers.


NPG Records
NPG Records
5 years, 2 months ago on 23 March 2015
Running Time
US Chart Peak
Not charted
UK Chart Peak
Not charted


  1. As Trains Go By [feat. Prince] (4:34)
  2. Turn Up [feat. Prince] (3:28)
  3. Angel In The Dark (4:08)
  4. Beautiful Life (4:02)
  5. Cure (2:42)
  6. Love Trip [feat. Prince] (3:01)
  7. My People (2:43)
  8. Wild Tonight [feat. Prince] (4:18)
  9. Cry, Cry, Cry (5:06)
  10. Jammin' In The Basement (3:32)
  11. Back In Time (3:45)

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2020 | Privacy