Home » Prince Tour Timeline » Jam of the Year Tour

Jam of the Year Tour


There are no slaves on this stage tonight.

Due to his on-going dispute with Warner Brothers Records Prince vowed  that he would no longer record in studio but instead tour, until the expiration of that contract (31 December 1999). The resulting Jam of the Year Tour became therefore an amalgamation of several tours – all of which are performed with Prince under the name The Artist Formally Known As Prince ( Prince love symbol).

Due to its sheer length of two full years, the tour spanned several projects, prompting its continual renaming. Beginning as the Love 4 One Another shows to raise funds for Prince’s charity of the same name, these were in essence warm-up events for the larger tour, Jam of the Year Tour, for which to promote the release of Emancipation, his first album away from yoke of Warner Brothers. The sheer extent of the tour found it become one of the highest grossing of 1998.

Prince was supported on this tour by Larry Graham and Chaka Khan to promote their own individual projects and it was at this phase the tour became the Newpower Soul Tour and later the Newpower Festival for the promotion of Prince’s Newpower Soul album.


The Artist Formally Known As Prince
Kirk Johnson
Kathleen Dyson
Rhythm Guitar
Mike Scott
Morris Hayes
Bass Guitar
Rhonda Smith
Marva King

Total dates played

Sample setlist

  1. Push It Up
  2. Jam Of The Year
  3. Talkin’ Loud And Sayin’ Nothing
  4. Let’s Work
  5. Delirious
  6. Purple Rain
  7. Little Red Corvette
  8. I Would Die 4 U
  9. Get Yo Groove On
  10. Face Down
  11. I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man
  12. The Ride
  13. The Christ
  14. The One
  15. Do Me, Baby
  16. Adore
  17. Insatiable
  18. Scandalous!
  19. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
  20. Sexy MF
  21. If I Was Your Girlfriend
  22. Diamonds And Pearls
  23. The Beautiful Ones
  24. The Most Beautiful Girl In The World
  25. Darling Nikki
  26. Nothing Compares 2 U
  27. Take Me With U
  28. Raspberry Beret
  29. Mr. Happy
  30. Come On
  31. I Like (Funky Music)
  32. Baby I’m A Star
  33. 1999

Supporting albums



EMI Records

19 November 1996
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
Newpower Soul

Newpower Soul


30 June 1998
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
Come 2 My House

Come 2 My House

NPG Records

29 March 1999
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak
GCS 2000

GCS 2000

NPG Records

21 July 1998
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak

Prince Tour Trivia

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2020 | Privacy