Home » Prince Tour Timeline » Hit And Run Tour

Hit And Run Tour (2014/5) Hit And Run Tour 2014/5
Dates & Venues Tour Timeline

Hit And Run Tour


Have you ever heard nine hits in a row?

The Hit And Run Tour was the promotional tour for Prince‘s 3rdEyeGirl band, performed throughout 2014 and 2015. The tour began with a series of very short notice ‘hit and run’ style shows held at small and iconic London venues throughout February 2014. This initial phase was not in essence a fully fledged ‘tour’ as only few of the venues were booked in advance, it received no coordinated campaign. Indeed its shows were often announced the morning of the event taking place.

Prince said the band would remain in London for as long as the city wanted them to play. The shows were extremely well received and garnered and benefited from considerable press attention due to the novelty of Prince popping up at very small venues seemingly at his whim. This strategy instilled a sense of occasion into every show and had fans darting across London to catch the shows – handing a black marker pen down the line numbering their hands to ensure they could get into the limited capacity venues.

Due to the tour’s success a more structured series of the shows followed when the band revisited the UK that May, and the tour was consequently named Hit And Run Part II and up-scaled to arenas. These dates were announced and ticketed days in advance and a tourbook was also produced. This second leg focused on venues in northern UK, with its later dates performed in mainland Europe. The tour was revived on 6 March 2015 with the announcement the HitNRun Tour, this time cropping up at venues across the US that spring – starting off in the hometown of drummer Hannah Welton (nee Ford), in Louisville, Kentucky.

Prince | HITNRUN Tour 2015
Photography by Kevin Mazur


Hannah Ford
Donna Grantis
Bass Guitar
Ida Nielsen
Joshua Welton

Total dates played

Sample setlist

  1. Let’s Go Crazy
  2. Funknroll
  3. She’s Always In My Hair
  4. I Could Never Take The Place Of Your Man
  5. Guitar
  6. Plectrumelectrum
  7. Fixurlifeup
  8. Marz / Johnny B. Good
  9. Colonized Mind
  10. Chaos And Disorder
  11. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore
  12. The Beautiful Ones
  13. Diamonds And Pearls
  14. Purple Rain
  15. Do Me, Baby
  16. Adore
  17. Forever In My Life
  18. When Doves Cry
  19. Sign O’ The Times
  20. Housequake
  21. I Would Die 4 U
  22. Hot Thing
  23. Play That Funky Music
  24. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
  25. Cause And Effect
  26. Endorphinmachine
  27. Dreamer
  28. Screwdriver
  29. I Like It There
  30. Bambi

Supporting album



Warner Bros. Records

30 September 2014
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak

Prince Tour Trivia

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2021 | Privacy

New Release

Welcome 2 America

30 July 2021
Welcome 2 America CD & Vinyl