Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » Newfunk Sampling Series

Newfunk Sampling Series

NPG Records

The Newfunk Sampling Series was intended to comrpsie of seven CDs containing a combined total of 700 audio samples from previously recorded Prince songs; including some from his biggest hits of the 80s, namely Kiss, Raspberry Beret, When Doves Cry and Erotic City. The tracks comprised of samples of bass, beats, voice, keyboards, loops / percussion, sound effects, and orchestral. The set was intended for purchase by DJs and record producers for a one-off fee of $700 – without risk, according to the official announcement, “of reprisal, copyright prosecution or additional royalties” so to give legal use of his samples in their music. Newfunk Sampling Series did not comprise of any full-length songs or new material.


In the advertisement first available Prince’s official website npgonlineltd.com on 28 March 1999, the Newfunk Sampling Series was intended for sale through his retail outlet 1800newfunk.com, and a party to mark the release took place at Paisley Park on 16 September 2000. However, for reasons known only to Prince, the actual release never materialised and the set was cancelled suddenly and without explanation.


NPG Records
NPG Records
19 years, 9 months ago on 16 September 2000
Running Time
7 CD volumes (intended)
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2020 | Privacy