Home » Prince Discography » Related Artists » 1-800 NEW FUNK

1-800 NEW FUNK

NPG Records

Pop Pop Pop

Compilation of artists signed to Prince’s label, NPG Records. All the songs were written by Prince, except George Clinton’s Hollywood1. 1-800 NEW FUNK gave its name to Prince’s soon to be launched merchandse website 1800newfunk.com and as the phone number order line to that same store.

1-800 NEW FUNK was released to coincide with Warner Brothers’ release of Come but also, quickly, because the artists were signed to Paisley Park Records of which was a subsidiary of Warner of whom was about to close down. Prince then established NPG Records and appears under the name Prince love symbol.


NPG Records
NPG Records
25 years, 10 months ago on 14 August 1994
Running Time
US Chart Peak
UK Chart Peak


  1. MPLS [performed by Minneapolis] (4:28) 1
  2. Hollywood [by George Clinton] (4:33)
  3. Love Sign [feat. Nona Gaye and Prince] (3:32)
  4. [performed by Mayte] (4:20)
  5. Colour [performed by The Steeles] (4:21)
  6. [by The NPG] (5:08)
  7. Standing At The Alter [performed by Margie Cox] (3:55)
  8. [performed by Mavis Staples] (4:12)
  9. 17 [by Madhouse] (5:24)
  10. A Woman's Gotta Have It [performed by Nona Gaye] (4:31)
  11. Minneapolis [Reprise] [performed by MPLS] (0:49)

1 Released as singles.

© Goldies Parade, 1998 – 2020 | Privacy